All USC Fastest Times 2094 - 2011


Add a comment
  • the Pope on 2011-Nov-07 23:48:56 the Pope said

    The 2006 entry you have listed here as Zero Error, is listed as John Wargo on the AASBD website:

    "John Wargo, from California, put together the 2006 Ultimate Speed Challenge winning team with driver Jenny Rodway. Jenny set a new track record of 26.934 seconds."

    Also, the winning team in 2010 and 2011 is not called "Your Team"
  • TXDERBY on 2011-Nov-07 23:56:06 TXDERBY said

    If you knew AASBD history you would know that John could not enter a car/driver and gave his USC slot (after all were given out) to Derek/ZE and Jenny. It was Derek's team and Jenny that won the race.

    What name should be used (car builder, driver, wheel providers)?

    PS: Tomorrow I will post official published AASBD speed records (not the opinions of an race announcer).
  • the Pope on 2011-Nov-09 03:57:59 the Pope said

    Mr Frank,

    You have questioned my approach as 'selectively rearranging history'. I believe that if a car goes faster than anyone has before, they have broken the record and thus deserve recognition. You believe that there can only be one record per year at most. What we believe matters not. What the AASBD believes is what matters.

    A tour of site reveals nothing to support your position. There is nothing in the rules on this topic. The detailed lists of winners in the section of that site called “the champs” presents the finishing order for the 6 other race classes for every year but no times are given. The heat sheets show what I presume to be the fastest times for the winning car in each heat but do not identify the fastest time per race/class. I could find no discussion of any records for the 6 traditional race classes. Official published AASBD speed records appear to be lacking on their website.

    Why this disregard for time at the AA? If we think for a minute, we will realize that this is because all the races at the AA, except the USC, are determined by who wins each heat. Elapsed time is not a factor in those races. If you win , you advance. Thus, it is not surprising to find that in all other classes, the AA is not ‘time’ focused and that they care very little about who had the fastest times in those races. It is also possible that the quickest time does not win the race (based on the way the heats and lanes work at the AA). Frankly, it does not matter how they treat the other races with respect to this topic, how they treat the USC event should inform this debate

    The AASBD has in fact taken a different approach with the USC vs. the other race classes. The USC event is based entirely on elapsed time and not on multiple rounds of elimination racing. The site provides clarity on what is considered to be a track record with respect to USC. On that site, under the tab labeled "events" we find the section for "ultimate speed". In the section, we find a pdf labeled "ultimate speed challenge history". This document provides a detailed story of the winners by year. It also includes details about the track record when it is set. It mentions the record being broken by a person who do not win. It does not give credit for people who were faster than the prior year’s record but were beaten to the punch by a quicker car on the same day. Specifically we can find mention of Jim Overmyer breaking the record in 2010 despite not winning and Jamie having a faster time later but also not winning. While she is clearly described as setting the record n 2009, there is no mention of her setting or breaking any record in 2010. Logic suggests this is because Sheri had already set a faster time. To quote this source:

    "The 73rd (2010) AASBD Ultimate Speed Challenge, started quickly as Team Clean Sheet/Sigma Nu, with driver Jim Overmyer set the track record at 26.861 seconds in the opening heat. Several minutes later, Sheri Lazowski, also of Team Clean Sheet /Sigma Nu, lowered the record further to 26.844 seconds. The 2009 USC record holder, Jamie Berndt came close later in the day with a 26.849 time for 2nd place, only 0.005 seconds shy of first place. Competition was tight in 2010, with the top 3 cars finishing within a span of 0.017 seconds, and 11 runs under the 2009 record."

    So, the AASBD website agrees with the “asshole” approach (thanks Carl) when looking at the AAUSC race, and does not seem to care about times or records very much in the other 'traditional" races. CMU also uses the same “ asshole” approach. There are many fast times but few records. Oddly CMU seems to pack all the record breaking in to very few days, often with clusters of multiple records set the same day (1981, 1988, 2008), leading to some very short lived records. Sometimes due to the “asshole” method, a fast time is not a record because of quicker time earlier the same day (Beta’s 2.10.00 in 1983 and the previously discussed case of SDC and PKA). The the clip I shared, AASBD Track announcer took the same “asshole” approach this year, recognizing each car that had gone faster than the prior record as a new track record and not recognizing runs that happened later that would have been records but for the fact that someone else had beaten them to it.

    You are clearly bitter over our recent success and your lack thereof. But frankly, it is you who are selectively rearranging history. I am referencing easily accessible, recognized sources. Despite your promise above, you have provided no convincing evidence and would ask us to ignore that which is clearly before us.

    PS, I know this is late in coming but congratulations to you, Zero Error, and Jamie for setting the 24th, 27th, 30th, and 39th fastest times in the AA USC history. I was proud to see my old 2009 wheels tie the 39th fastest time this year for Kenton Klucker in car # 909 (10th place).

Download Photo

Photo info